Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

KUNITS, LUIGI VON, 1870-1931
MUS 32

Luigi von Kunits fonds.  1888-1931.  - 25 cm of textual records.  - 2 photographs. 

Biographical sketch
Born in Vienna, Austria, Luigi von Kunits studied violin with Jacob Grün and Otakar Sevcik, and composition with Bruckner.  In 1893, he went to the United States with an Austrian orchestra for the World Fair, and decided to settle there.  He taught violin in Chicago and at the Pittsburgh Conservatory (1896-1910), then in Canada, starting in 1912, at the Canadian Academy of Music in Toronto.  The same year, he formed the Academy String Quartet in Toronto, and in 1922 founded the New Symphony Orchestra (later the Toronto Symphony Orchestra), which he conducted until 1931.  He composed concertos for violin, string quartet, a sonata for viola, pieces for voice or violin and piano, and melodies. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to the musical career of Luigi von Kunits:  autograph manuscripts of compositions and arrangements; lecture notes; correspondence; concert programmes; posters; photographs of family members and possibly of the Pittsburgh Orchestra. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired by deposit from Francesco A. Fusco and Aglaia C. Edwards, daughter of Luigi von Kunits, in 1973; acquisition of one work from Muziekantiquariaat Lelieveld in 1988. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  inventory. 

Proactive Disclosure